

2024 Minutes

2nd Baldock Scouts Group Annual General Meeting

Location: St. John's Catholic Primary School, Providence Way, Baldock, SG7 6TT Date: 7th June 2024 Time: 19:30

Welcome and Introduction

- Our Group Lead Volunteer, Ed Hartley, introduced the current Chair, Ben Dias, who then opened the AGM by welcoming everyone, including the many parents who had joined us, as well as our District Commissioner Rob Coldery, our County Commissioner Ian Tyser and many of our past leaders and trustees.
- Given it was our 70th anniversary celebration day as well, the Chair (Ben Dias) also welcomed a very special guest, Mick Dilley, who was one of the inaugural cubs who joined the 2nd Baldock Scout Group on the day it opened 70 years ago, and who has since spent many years as a Cub, Scout, the equivalent of an Explorer and then as a leader and still supports our group by letting us use his farm for some of our activities.

Apologies for absence

• Fr. Denis Sarsfield

Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on 9th June 2023

• The minutes were taken as read and the Chair (Ben Dias) proposed that they are accepted as a true record of the meeting, which was seconded by Mick Dilley and approved by everyone via a show of hands.

Annual Adoption of our Group Constitution

- In line with the recommendation from Scout Headquarters, the Chair (Ben Dias) proposed that we adopt the model constitution from Chapter 5 of Policy, Organisation and Rules, with the following local variations:
 - 1. All Trustees will be elected to a 3 year term from the 2024 AGM
 - 2. The Trustee Board should have 10 Trustees in total. This includes ex officio and coopted Trustees.
 - 3. Trustee Board meetings are open for section leaders to attend to have input before any votes.
 - 4. A quorum for Trustee Board meetings will consist of 3 trustees and the GLV (or their non-trustee representative)
 - 5. A quorum for future Group Scout Council meetings will consist of 10 members.
- This was seconded by Matthew Riley and approved by everyone via a show of hands.

Noting of the Group's Financial Year

• It was then noted that our charity's financial year is 1st January to 31st December

Review of Previous Year

- It was noted that our Group Lead Volunteer's report, along with reports from each section were available in the Annual Report
- The Chair (Ben Dias) reported that the Group Trustee Board had approved the Annual Report and Statement of Accounts and had received the report on the accounts from the Independent Examiner.
- The Group Treasurer (Matthew Riley) then went through his Treasurer's Report, highlighting that we had made a surplus of £1,127 for the year and explaining that subscriptions would increase to £40/term from £37.50/term which was the first increase since 2019. He also noted that we were supporting more families via the hardship fund and that this remains a priority for us.
- There were no questions raised regarding the Annual Report and Statement of Accounts

Trustee Board Appointments

- The outgoing Chair (Ben Dias) then handed over the chairmanship of the meeting to the Group Lead Volunteer (Ed Hartley) to appoint the Chair for the next year.
- The Group Lead Volunteer (Ed Hartley) explained the open selection process that was run to appoint the new Trustee Board for the next year.
- Following the open selection process, the Group Lead Volunteer (Ed Hartley) recommended to the Group Scout Council that Ben Dias should be appointed as Chair of the Trustee Board for the next 3-year term.
- The recommendation was approved by everyone via a show of hands.
- The Group Lead Volunteer (Ed Hartley) then handed the chairmanship of the meeting to the new Chair (Ben Dias).
- Following the open selection process, the Chair (Ben Dias) recommended to the Group Scout Council that Matthew Riley should be appointed as Treasurer of the Trustee Board for the next 3-year term.
- The recommendation was approved by everyone via a show of hands.
- Following the open selection process, the Chair (Ben Dias) recommended to the Group Scout Council that Diana Marshall, Rob Purcell & Lisa Burgess should each be appointed as members of the Trustee Board for a 3-year term.
- The recommendation was approved by everyone via a show of hands.
- The Chair (Ben Dias) then thanked all of the Trustees and Leaders for their work during the last year, and particularly thanked Katherine Pennell, who stood down as Chair since the last AGM, for her services to the group over the past few years.

Appoint the Independent Examiner

- The Treasurer (Matthew Riley) proposed that Andrew Morgan should be re-appointed as our Independent Examiner.
- The Chair (Ben Dias) confirmed that Andrew Morgan had been proposed, seconded and is qualified for the role of Independent Examiner
- The re-appointment of Andrew Morgan as our Independent Examiner was then approved by everyone via a show of hands

- The Chair (Ben Dias) then explained that, on this special occasion, we will be inviting our distinguished guests to speak and present awards during our 70th anniversary celebrations, instead of during the meeting.
- The Chair (Ben Dias) then closed the AGM by thanking everyone for attending and inviting them to join our 70th anniversary celebrations